Step 5: Cover Our Corporate Asses

I’m making very small steps to try to rein in the eating out / eating poorly. Certainly, making one’s own food is a good step, but I’m tired and lazy and we said very small, remember? So: lower-calorie, frozen meals. Little boxes, little boxes and all that. On the continuum of healthy choices, it’s a compromise I’m willing to make.

Discussions about the level of my personal healthy decisions notwithstanding, what I find especially amusing / annoying about the meals this time around is that they all seem to have a “step five” that looks something like this:

Check that product is cooked thoroughly. Internal temperature needs to reach 165°F as measured by a food thermometer in several places.

Emphasis mine.

Here’s the thing: small, portable boxed meals are popular because they’re a convenience. Quick. Easy. Everything you need all in one box. The kind of person who is likely to own and regularly use a food thermometer strikes me as the kind of person who is least likely to make regular use of frozen entrees as a meal option.

And let’s not pretend anyone who wrote those instructions isn’t fully aware of that fact. I recognize that thoroughly cooking food is important. That careless cooking can lead to food-borne illnesses of various stripes. But it just seems like an annoyingly transparent CYA choice to put insincere “instructions” on packaging like this.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think there’s some Easy Mac calling my name.

Leave a Reply

